Milwaukee Street Machine of the Year

Since 1988, Street Machine of the Year has been the richest and prestigious award in our sport. What makes SMOTY unique is that the winner is selected solely by the street machine community. The role call of winners is a whose-who of legends. Milwaukee provides a $20,000 first prize to the winner and $5000 to one lucky voter.

Frequently Asked Questions

The be eligible to be in the running for Street Machine of the Year, your car will need to have been featured in the mag in the previous year. From there, the editorial team choose 16 finalists. The winner is then chosen by a public vote.

The SMOTY winner receives $20,000 thanks to Milwaukee and gets their name etched on the famous perpetual trophy. The award is officially presented at a VIP party at Street Machine Summernats

The first SMOTY winner was Alan Cooper's BLOBAK HQ Holden ute in 1988! Check out the full list here

Young SMOTY is a new competition to reward and encourage a new generation of car builders. Anyone aged 24 or under is eligible to enter and the competition is open to any genre of car. The voting for this year's competition is open now, have your say here